Episode 221



March 5th, 2024

42 mins 14 secs

Season 7

Your Hosts

About this Episode

Several internal selections join the Eurovision 2024 field this week and exactly zero of them are holding back. Serbia's national final goes harder than necessary while Iceland... also made a selection this week. We're in the homestretch!

Maximal Summary

  • Nemo breaks "The Code" for Switzerland (0:47)
  • Joost Klein is the Netherlands' "Europapa" (3:51)
  • Silia Kapsis calls out a "Liar" for Cyprus (9:08)
  • The United Kingdom's Olly Alexander is "Dizzy" for Eurovision (11:37)
  • Austria declares "We Will Rave" with Kaleen (16:32)
  • Teya Dora wins Serbia's Pesma za Euroviziju with "Ramonda" (19:47)
  • Hera Bjork's "Scared of Heights" wins in Iceland (28:23)
  • Melfest Heat 5 (33:19)
  • Portugal's Festival da Cancao Semi 2 (38:56)
  • This week: Australia, Greece, the End of Selection Season 2024 (40:36)


The EuroWhat? Podcast is available wherever you get your podcasts. Find your podcast app to subscribe here.

Comments, questions, and episode topic suggestions are always welcome. You can shoot us an email or reach out on Bluesky @eurowhat.bsky.social.

Malmö 2024

Stay up to date on everything happening in the leadup to the Eurovision Song Contest on our page dedicated to Malmö 2024. You can keep tabs on the countries, artists, and songs, set your laundry folding schedule with our EuroWhat's On calendar, and futz with your Spotify algorithm with our Selection Season playlist!

Join the EuroWhat AV Club!

If you would like to help financially support the show, we are hosting the EuroWhat AV Club over on Patreon! We have a slew of bonus episodes with deep dives on Eurovision-adjacent topics.

Support The EuroWhat? Podcast